Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 10th, 2010

Everyday Time

By Paul Handley

Everyday I spend time,
maybe not much, considering how I would

spend my time if a bag of money tied
in a Simply Vera Wang bed sheet

was dropped up incline of me,
rolling into my legs
so that I cover it with my chest and arms after I topple.

Everyday I spend time
maybe not much, wishing people welcomed me
for whom I am and the opposite.

Every day I spend time
maybe not much, considering the
value of my experiences.

Everyday I spend time
maybe not much, thinking

how glad I am science had such a
head start on my birth.

Everyday I spend time
maybe not much, thinking
about the frailty of science.

Everyday I spend time
maybe not much, thinking about

what kind of person has happened to me,
to wish that upon a person and can I back track?

Hands clasped me from behind and
piggy backed, stepping into the back of my
knees and sinking in.

Everyday I spend time
maybe not much, as if I
deposited a quarter in a meter and I’m
parked for twenty minutes.

Everyday I spend time
maybe not much,
at a meter, hoping I won’t get caught for
using a slug.

Everyday I spend time
maybe not much,
despising those that might detect my slug use
and their unfulfilling use of time

Everyday I spend time
maybe not much, dismissing
how much money I could get out of a meter

if I smashed it on the
head with a cement block,
but realizing that would serve as recompense
for the anxious times I have spent there.

Everyday I spend time
maybe not much,
wondering how much writing I could complete in prison

and avoid sexual degradation or
joining the Aryan nation of tattoos.

Everyday I spend time
maybe not much, wondering who would meet me when I left prison

and find a job that would keep a criminal record in perspective.
This is a person I could trust.

Read Full Post »